In order to obtain your concealed carry permit or license, you may have to prove competence with a handgun and/or take a firearms safety or training course.
Specific requirements will depend on your state, but the majority of states require that you take a class of some kind. This could be anything from 15 or more hour classroom and range training course to a couple of hours learning your state’s laws.
More recently, though, you may have the option to complete your training requirements from the comfort of your own home – online.
At present, only Virginia offers such an option, but it could very well extend into other states before long, particularly those with lower legal requirements when it comes to training or showing that you know how to use your firearm.
To get online Virginia Concealed Carry training , usually paying by credit card or PayPal, and you will be granted access to the training modules. These usually consist of video instruction, and may come with written instruction.
After taking in all of the information, you will be required to pass a test. It is generally the case that you will need 80/100 to pass the test, but most questions will be multiple choice, and generally not too difficult, especially if you paid close attention during the lectures online.
If you don’t pass (which is rare, with some schools boasting 99% passing rates on the first try and above), you are usually able to take the test again for free until you pass.
If you receive a passing grade on the test, you will be instructed to print off a page that has your details on it, stating that you have completed training that meets Virginia’s state requirements. Print this form out and send it in with your application.
While you may indeed take this online course if you live in Virginia, it is seemingly used very regularly by those people who live outside of Virginia who wish to receive their non-resident Virginia Permit to Carry a Concealed Handgun. Because Virginia’s permits are recognized in many states, it may be easier for a person to obtain a Virginia permit than a permit from their home state, and this may be the best way for someone to carry concealed legally, if their home state has much more stringent laws.
There is some controversy surrounding online concealed carry classes. While some people do not believe there should be any laws stopping someone from carrying concealed, others think you must prove yourself thoroughly before you are allowed to carry concealed.
For residents of Virginia they simply watch our training video and take the test and if they pass the test they purchase the training certificate. Now the next step is to print the certificate off and take it to your local circuit clerk’s office. The circuit clerk have an application for you to fill out they’ll take fingerprints and do a background check as long as your background check is approved they’ll manufacture the permit and sent it to you. The maximum your Circuit Clerk may charge you to process your application is $50 so it could be less but the maximum is 50. We recommend calling ahead there’s some circuit clerks are so busy that they’ll only take application by appointment only once your background check has been performed depending on your circuit clerk could take 30 to 45 days to get the permit back a lot of county circuits clerks are faster than 30 days even it’s not uncommon to get it in 2 weeks or less.
For Non- Residents: After completing the training take the test if the pass the test they can purchase the training certificate. After purchasing the certificate they apply through the mail with the Virginia State Police. There are 6 thing you will need to send to the Virginia State Police as a non-resident.
- Completed & Notarized Application
- $100 Money Order to Virginia State Police
- 2 Complemented FBI Finger Print Cards
- 2 Passport Style Photos
- Copy of Driver’s License/Govt. issued Photo ID
- Certificate of Completion Form Virginia online Concealed Training
Once the Virginia State Police Receive these details they will do a background check on you as long as your background check is approved they’ll manufacture the permit and send it to you. The Permit should arrive in 30 to 90 days after the background check has been approved.